Listen to Jesus–Matthew 17 & 18

Last week I began reading the World War II novel Unbroken.  Less than five minutes into the book and I was hooked.  I can’t stop now.  I have to find out what happens to Louie Zamperini.  While getting ready for work this morning I listened to two ESPN sportscasters deliver the latest sports scores and updates, “OKC blows out Indiana while Boston slips past Portland.”   At the YMCA, I listened to Bon Jovi and Boston and Three Doors Down among other bands and artists on my ipod.  There’s nothing like listening to Livin’ on a Prayer to get the blood pumping for another workout session.   As I was driving to work, my wife and I conversed about the upcoming events of the day.   I learned I am soccer dad today at 5:30…can’t miss practice.  

There are numerous voices fighting for my attention.  Those voices include my wife, daughter, parents, employers, accountant, doctor and friends.  These voices also include book authors, TV programs, teachers and radio stations.  Your life is probably similar.  I imagine my life being fairly normal.  I’m convinced you also have numerous voices fighting for your attention.  We live busy lives.  America is as busy as it has ever been.  We are constantly on the go.  We are constantly in motion moving to the next activity on our daily schedule.  In the midst of all these competing voices, do we take time to listen to the one voice that really matters?  As we live out our busy lives day after day, are we taking time to listen to the King of kings and Lord of lords?  In Matthew 17:5, God sends an urgent message to Peter, Andrew and John.  This message is one we desperately need to hear and follow.  Listen to God’s words, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to Him!”  

There is one voice that deserves and demands our attention.  Listen to Jesus.  This week’s reading is Matthew 17 and 18.  I want to point out some words from Jesus in these chapters deserving of your attention.  In Matthew 17:7 Jesus says, “Get up, and do not be afraid.”  People are fearful of many things.  Some fear public speaking.  Some fear spiders or tornadoes.  Others fear death.  We don’t have to live fearful lives.  Through Jesus we can find courage.  In Matthew 18:14 Jesus says, “It is not the will of your Father who is in heaven that one of these little ones perish.”  God wants all people to be saved.  God wants you to be saved.  Jesus knew God.  Jesus understood God’s desire for His creation to be saved.  Jesus made salvation possible.  Through the work and sacrifice of Jesus you can be saved.  Finally in Matthew 18:22 Jesus says, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.”  Jesus is talking with Simon Peter about forgiveness.  Jesus goes on to share a powerful parable about forgiveness.  Is it easier for you to ask someone for forgiveness or to grant somebody forgiveness?  As we move through life, we will find ourselves in both situations.  We all need forgiveness!  We all need to forgive.  Don’t expect to receive pardon from the hand of God, if you refuse to grant pardon to others.  

Take time to read Matthew 17 and 18 this week.  Amongst all the voices competing for your attention, don’t forget to listen to Jesus.

About phillipljohnson

Minister for the Westside church of Christ in Norman, OK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment